Thursday, April 3, 2014

2014 MN Hoops Awards

Player of the Year 

The readers have spoken! And this year I agree with you. The MN Hoops Player of the Year--both the "official" version and the reader's version--is Carlie Wagner of NRHEG.

2. The readers like J.P. Macura but our pick is Tyus Jones, Apple Valley.
3. The readers like Rachel Banham but we like Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx.
4. Rachel Banham. Minnesota Gophers women
5. J. P. Macura, Lakeville North

Team of the Year

Well, let's see…no college team did a whole lot this year in terms of national impact. At the high school level, somebody's got to win but was there a super team? Not according to the national rankings. So this is easy!

1. Minnesota Lynx 33-8, WNBA champs 2nd time in 3 years

2. Lakeville North boys 27-5 Class AAAA champs
3. Eastview girls 32-1 Class AAAA champs
4. Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa boys 31-1 Class A champs 3rd finals in 4 years
5. St. Mary's women 24-4 MIAC regular season champions

Coach of the Year

1. Mandy Pearson, St. Mary's women--the Cards have gone from doormats to powerhouse under coach Pearson

2. John Oxton, Lakeville North boys
3. Cheryl Reeve, Minnesota Lynx
4. Melissa Guebert, Eastview girls
5. Dan Westby, Marshall girls

Game of the Year

1. Lakeville North boys 84 Hopkins 82 Class AAAA final

2. Park Center girls 73 Marshall 71 (3OT) Class AAA final
3. Minnesota Gopher men 63 Ohio State 53
4. Eden Prairie girls 61 Hopkins 56 Section 6AAAA semi-final
5. Eastview girls 64 Bloomington Kennedy 61 Class AAAA final