Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Call for Nominations: Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame

EDIT; I can't believe that 47 people have looked at this post (as of July 15) and there hasn't been a single nomination made. Stick your neck out. Put a name (and school and year) in the comment box at the end.

ORIGINAL POST: This announcement comes from the Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame.


A committee was recently formed to organize a Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame, and the we are seeking the public's input as well as basketball historians with possible future inductees.

The Hall will recognize Minnesota's outstanding players, coaches, officials, media personnel, and other contributors throughout the boys' and girls' high school basketball eras. We would like to receive any nominations for the Hall's initial class by Tuesday, July 31, 2012. This is an excellent opportunity for the general public to have an input on state high school basketball history.  

Minnesota is looking to become only the third state in the country to have a high school basketball Hall of Fame. The others are Indiana and South Dakota."


Here are the nominees so far, so the purpose is to identify worthy candidates for enshrinement other than the following who are already under consideration. Please write in your nominations in the Comment Box at the end of this post.

Single Class Era


Pre-Title IX

Arlington 1927 10-0
Buffalo 1927-1932
Cromwell 1926-1927
Grand Meadow 1929-1939 94 consecutive wins
Aileen Just, Rapidan 1927-1929 Scored 30-32 points per game over 2 years
Litchfield 1927-1932 73 straight wins
Owatonna 1919
Coach Lila Reiersgard, Grand Meadow 1929-1936
Thea Sletkolen, Montevideo 1931-1935

Boys 1900s

Mpls. Central 1900-1902 The 1900 MN Gophers beat Iowa 30-4 and Central 8-7
George Tuck, Mpls. Central 1901


Fosston 1913
Harold Gillen, Stillwater 1914
Fred B. Hill Founder, MN State High School Basketball Tournament


Gaylord 1926
Moorhead 1928-1929 1st repeat state champion
Coach Glen Hanna, Moorhead
Martin Norton, Mpls. Central 1921 Record 77 pts in state tournament stood until 1944
Red Wing 1920-1922


DeLaSalle 1931 National Catholic champion
Mpls. Edison 1937 15-1 Regarded as best MN team to date.
Earl Moran, Moorhead 1939 1st player to win all- honors,
Coach Ray Parkins, Mpls. Edison
Coach Harvey Roels, Chisholm
Marty Rolek, Mpls. Edison 1934
Willie Warhol, Mpls. Edison 1937


Coach Chet Bisel, Lynd
Hal Haskins, Alexandria 1943
Jim Fritsche, St. Paul Humboldt 1949
Coach Joe Hutton, Hamline
Jim McIntyre, Mpls. Patrick Henry 1945
Vern Mikkelson, Askov 1945
Coach Mario Retica, Austin St. Augustine, Buhl, Hibbing
Whitey Skoog, Brainerd 1944


Coach Ove Berven, Austin
Coach Wayne Courtney, Mpls. Roosevelt
Sammie Evenson, Walker 1958
Leroy German, Madelia 1953
Norm Grow,  Foley 1958
Hopkins 1952-1953
Ron Johnson, New Prague 1956
Coach Butsie Maetzold, Hopkins
Mpls. Roosevelt 1956-1957
Tom Nordland, Mpls. Roosevelt 1957
Bill Simonovich, Gilbert 1951
Dave Tschimperle, Hopkins 1953


Coach Duane Baglien, Fergus Falls, Edina
Sid Bostic, Pipestone 1960
Bob Bruggers, Danube 1963
Bill Davis, Richfield 1960
Edgerton 1960
Edina 1966-1968
Coach Bun Fortier, Bemidji
LeRoy Gardner, St. Paul Central 1965
Coach Lloyd Holm, Red Wing,  Duluth Denfeld, St. Louis Park
Dean Veenhof, Edgerton 1961
Bob Zender, Edina 1968

Two Class Era



Laura Gardner, Bloomington Jefferson 1978
Cindy Haugejorde, New London-Spicer 1976
Joan Kowalsky, Benilde-St. Margaret's 1976
Lisa Lissimore, St. Paul Central 1978
Dorothy McIntyre
New York Mills 1977-80
St. Paul Central 1976-1979


Annie Adamczak, Moose Lake 1982
Jessica Beachy, Staples 1984
Coach Jerry Cool, Little Falls
Laurie Decker, Rochester Lourdes 1987
Denise Holm, Duluth East 1985
Janet Karvonen, New York Mills 1980
Angela Kuehn, MN State Academy for the Deaf 1985
Kay Konerza, Lester Prairie 1981
Judy McDonald, Chisholm 1984
Mary Jo Miller, Milroy, Tracy-Milroy 1988
Coach Terry Nelson, Austin Pacelli
Kelly Skalicky, Albany 1981
Janice Streit, Eden Valley-Watkins 1984


Coach Myron Glass, Rochester Lourdes
Tracy Henderson, Mpls. Patrick Henry 1993
Mauri Horton, Mpls. North 1999
Coach Terry Hunst, Bloomington Jefferson
Wendy Kohler, Alexandria
Shannon Loeblein, St. Paul Harding 1991
Coco Miller, Rochester Mayo 1997
Kelly Miller, Rochester Mayo 1997
Tamara Moore, Mpls. North 1998
Coach Dave Thorpe, Osseo
Megan Taylor, Roseau 1997



Randy Breuer, Lake City 1979
Pat Foschi, Virginia 1975
Gene Glynn, Waseca 1975
Andra Griffin, Mpls. Central 1977
Coach Jim Hastings, Duluth Central
Ronnie Henderson, Mpls. Marshall-U 1976
Mike Jerabek, Prior Lake
Steve Lingenfelter, Bloomington Jefferson 1976
Mpls. Marshall-U 1976
Kevin McHale, Hibbing 1976
Mark Olberding, Melrose 1974
Jeff Olson, Peterson 1975
Jeff Nessler, St. James 1972
Coach Ed Prohosky, Mpls. Marshall-U


Coach Bob Brink, Rocori
Coach Dan Brink, St. Paul Monroe, Central and Como Park
Coach Jack Evens, Bloomington Jefferson
Kevin Lynch, Bloomington Jefferson 1987
Coach John Nett, Winona Cotter
Coach Del Schiffler, Melrose, Woodbury
White Bear Lake 1984-1985
Barry Wohler, Bird Island-Lake Lillian 1981


Khalid El-Amin, Mpls. North 1997
Sam Jacobson, Park 1994
Coach Ziggy Kauls, Mounds View
Chad Kolander, Owatonna 1991
Coach Bob McDonald, Chisholm
Joel McDonald, Chisholm 1991
Mpls. North 1995-1997
Wabasso 117 Red Lake 113 (overtime) 1997

Four-Class Era

21st Century

Note that there is a 10-year waiting period for players and teams, so players and teams from 2002 and before are eligible, those from 2003 and later are not.


Coach Andy Berkvam, Lakeville North
Shannon  Bolden, Marshall 2002
Coach Brian Cosgriff, Hopkins
Coach Terry Culhane, Milroy, Tracy-Milroy and Marshall
Coach Mike Dreier, New London-Spicer
Coach Ray Finley, Blake, Breck, Providence
Mia Johnson, Mpls. North
Susan King, Holy Angels 2000
Lakeville 2001-2002
Coach Faith Johnson Patterson, Mpls. North, DeLaSalle
Coach Carol Visness, Kittson Central
Lindsay Whalen, Hutchinson 2000


Ken Lien, Mr. Basketball
Coach Larry McKenzie, Mpls. Patrick Henry
Coach Kenny Novak, Jr., Hopkins
Rick Rickert, Duluth East 2001
Southwest MN Christian 1999-2002
Jake Sullivan, Tartan 2000
Coach Dave Thorson, DeLaSalle


  1. Ok, here goes. Since I am a girls/womens bb fan I'll stick to that. I nominate Janet Karvonen, New York Mills, 1980.

  2. Thx, WBB. We're open for more nominees through July 31.

  3. If nominees are still being taken I nominate Bob & Dick Peterson of Henninf from the 1960's