Friday, April 12, 2013

Anders Broman wins Minnesota Hoops Readers Player of the Year Poll

Anders Broman wins Readers Player of the Year voting

Minnesota Hoops readers selected Anders Broman of Lakeview Christian as their Player of the Year in voting here on Minnesota Hoops. Broman roared into the lead in the 2nd of 2 weeks of voting, overtaking Carlie Wagner of New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva, who had led through the 1st week. Broman finished with 80 votes (50 percent of 158 votes cast) and Wagner with 32 (20 percent).

Nia Coffey with 16 votes (10 percent) and Tyus Jones with 15 votes (9 percent) also got into double figures, making it a clean sweep of the top 4 places by high schoolers. Rachel Banham was the topo non-high school vote-getting with 6 votes (3 percent).

Broman follows Kevin Love of the Minnesota Timberwolves (2011) and Taylor Young of St. Thomas University (2012) as the Readers Player of the Year.

The editors picked Love and Lindsay Whalen of the Minnesota Lynx as their Players of the Year for the same year. Watch this space for the editors choice for 2013.

Broman of course became the 1st Minnesotan to score 5,000 career points earlier this season, and remains the #1 scorer among Minnnesota boys or girls.

Candidates for Minnesota Hoops Player of the Year 2012-2013

Vote in our annual poll to the right>>>
Also check out our 2012-2013 season review below.

Semione Augustus, Minnesota Lynx. Augustus led the Lynx to a 2nd straight WNBA finals, where the team fell short of a repeat of its 2012 championship. She also helped the U.S. win the gold medal during last summer's Olympic Games.

Rachel Banham, Minnesota Gopher women. Banham led the Gopher women in good times and in bad, leading the Big 10 in scoring with more than 21 points per game. But the Gophers faltered to an 18-14 finish and a loss in the 1st round of the WNIT.

Anders Broman, Lakeview Christian boys. Finished his career as the 1st Minnesota high schooler ever to score 5,000 career points, and led his team to a 2nd state tournament berth.

Nia Coffey, Hopkins girls. Coffey led her team to a 3rd straight state title, dominating 3 straight opponents with her defense and rebounding, while also scoring 67 points in 3 games. She also earned McDonald's all-America honors.

Rebekah Dahlman, Braham girls. Finished her career as the 1st girl ever to score 5,000 points in Minnesota high school ball, and led her team to runner-up in Class AA. She, too, won McDonald's all-America honors.

Taylor Hall, Bethel men. Hall was MIAC MVP, and was rated the #3 player in all of D3 and the #13 player below D1 by 1 rating service.

Andre Hollins, Minnesota Gopher men. Andre was the Gophers leading scorer in good times and in bad, including a 41 point effort in an upset of then-#19 Memphis to help the Gophers roar out to a 15-1 start and a #8 national rating.

Tyus Jones, Apple Valley boys. Regarded by some as the #1 national recruit in the class of 2014, Jones led his team to the state Class AAAA title, and in the process avenged his team's only defeat in thrashing Park Center 74-57. Last summer he helped the U.S. to gold in the world 17 & under championship.

Clayton Vette, Winona State men. Vette was named D3 national Player of the Year. He led Winona to the Northern Sun South Division regular season crown, to the NCAA North Central Region title and to the D2 Elite 8. He finished 2nd in the NSIC in scoring (21 ppg) and rebounding and 3rd in shooting percentage.

Carlie Wagner, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva girls. Scored a record 129 points in the state tournament, where she led her team to the Class AA title in a classic win over Rebekah Dahlman and Braham 60-59 in the final. Wagner scored a record 50 points in that game.

No comments:

Post a Comment