Sunday, March 20, 2016

100 Years, 100 Stars: #51-75

Stars of the Minnesota State High School Basketball Tournaments 1913-2011

51. Kelly Roysland, Fosston girls, G, 2000-01-03. Roysland led Fosston to 3 Class A titles in 4 years, and led Class A scorers all 3 years with 66, 66 and 70 points for a total of 202. Her 70 points in 2003 in fact led all scorers.

52. New York Mills girls, 1977-78-79-80. New York Mills was the 2nd 3-peat champion after the Edina boys. Janet Karvonen starred but Mills had other weapons. Dana Patsie set tournament rebounding records, and guard Kim Salathe set assist records, all since broken. Going for a 4-peat in Karvonen’s senior year, Mills was shocked by Austin Pacelli  in the 1980 semi-final, 55-43, in one of the greatest upset in boys or girls tournament history.

53. Larry McKenzie, Mpls. Patrick Henry boys, coach, 1999-2003 and Mpls. Patrick Henry, 2000-2003. McKenzie coached the 2nd team—boys or girls—ever to win four straight titles. The Patriots won 111 games in those 4 years while losing 13. The 28-1 2000 team, led by Johnnie Gilbert, was the best of the 4, while son Lawrence McKenzie helped Henry to the latter 3 championships.

54. Barry Wohler, Bird Island-Lake Lillian boys, G, 1980-81; Orono boys, coach, 2011.  Wohler led Bird Island-Lake Lillian to the 1980 and 1981 Class A titles, both going into 2OT. Wohler hit 3 game-changing shots in the waning seconds including the game- and championship-winner with 5 seconds left in the 2nd OT in 1981. 30 years later he coached Orono, including his son Brady, to the Class AAA title, just as his father, Jerry, had coached him.

55. Lloyd Holm, Red Wing, Duluth Denfeld, St. Louis Park, coach, 1941-62 and Terry Culhane, Milroy, Tracy, Tracy-Milroy, Marshall girls, coach, 1985-2002. Holm and Culhane are the only coaches to play in a state final with 3 different schools –Holm with Red Wing, Duluth Denfeld and St.Louis Park; Culhane with Milroy, Tracy-Milroy (and/or Tracy Area) and Marshall. Holm won 2 out of 3 finals, Culhane won 4 titles in 8 tournament appearances. Among the girls, only Myron Glass and Faith Johnson Patterson have more.

56. Katie Ohm, Elgin-Millville girls, forward, 2002-03-04-05. Ohm led the Watchmen to 4 straight state tournaments and, finally, a state title in 2005. She led all scorers 6 times in 8 games, including all 3 in 2005, when she led her class with 56 points.

57. Johnny Dick, Buhl boys, F, 1935-36. The 5-foot-3 Dick led Buhl to 2 state tournaments, and to a 3rd place in 1936. Buhl upset Mpls. Edison in the 1st round in 1936, shooting 50 percent from the field at a time when 20 percent was considered to be good shooting. When Dick came out of the lineup late in the 3rd place game, he received the longest and loudest standing ovation in tournament history.

58. Jeff Nessler, St. James boys, G, 1972. Nessler led St. James to the Class A and overall championships of 1972. In the final against Melrose, he hit a half-court shot at the final buzzer to win 57-55. He led all scorers in the overall final with 22 in a 60-52 win over Mounds View.

59. St. Paul Central girls, 1976-1979. Central won the 1st “official” Class AA title in 1976, then took 5th place in 1977, 3rd in 1978 and another championship in 1979. Lisa Lissimore scored 140 points in the 1st 3 of those tournaments, and was 1 point shy of Laura Gardner’s 141 for the career record at that time. A year later, Janet Karvonen took over.

60 (tie). Ziggy Kauls  Mounds View boys, coach, 1972-2005, and Mark Landsberger, Mounds View boys, F, 1972-73. Kauls and Landsberger teamed up to win the 1972 Class AA title as Landsberger led all scorers with 84 points in 4 games. In 1973, the Mustangs were upset and settled for 5th place as Landsberger scored 31 in the consolation final. Kauls returned to a total of 12 tournaments, winning a 2nd title in 1999.

61. Shannon Loeblein, St. Paul Harding girls, F, 1990-91. Loeblein led Harding to a 5th and a 2nd place in the state tournament, and led all Class AA scorers both times with 78 and 72 points.

62. Tom Mulso, Sherburn boys, F, 1970. Mulso led Sherburn to the last single class championship in 1970, leading all scorers with 83 points including 39 in the championship game win over South St. Paul. Only Jim McIntyre in 1945 had ever scored more points in a championship game.

63. Brittany Chambers, Jordan girls, G, 2007-08-09. Chambers scored a tournament record (since tied) with 47 points in a 79-74 win over Crookston in the 2008 Class AA semi-final. She led all scorers with 91 points as Jordan took 2nd place. Chambers also helped Jordan to 3rd place in 2007 and 4th place in 2009.

64. Ben Johnson, DeLaSalle boys, G, 1997-98-99. Johnson led the Islanders to 3 Class AA finals, with titles coming in 1998 and 1999. He led all scorers in 7 of 9 games, and led Class AA in scoring in 1998 and 1999 with 86 and 69 points.

65 (tie). Bill Davis, Richfield boys, F, 1960 and Dean Veenhof, Edgeton boys, C, 1960-61. Davis and Veenhof were the 1st 2 1,000 point scorers to face off in a state tournament game. Their battle—a 63-60 OT win for Edgerton—also was 1 of the celebrated games in tournament history as the Dutchmen were on their way to becoming the smallest school from the smallest town ever to win the state single class title. Davis scored 40 points the next day and led all scorers with 88 points in 3 games. Veenhof returned to help Edgerton to a 6th place finish the following year.

66. Jenna Smith, Bloomington Kennedy girls, C, 2005-06. Smith led Kennedy to the 2005 and 2006 Class AAAA final, both against Hopkins. The Eagles won 44-38 in OT in 2005 as Smith led all classes with 63 points and 34 boards. In 2006 Hopkins came from behind and pulled away to a 65-48 win.

67. Chad Kolander, Owatonna boys, C, 1989-90. Kolander led Owatonna to back-to-back titles in 1989 and 1990. He led all scorers in 4 of the 6 games, including 24 points in the 1990 title game.

68. Mario Retica, Buhl, Hibbing boys, coach, 1942-57. Retica coached Buhl to the 1942 state title, then brought Hibbing to 5 tournaments in 10 years including a runner-up finish in 1953. (Previously he had coach Austin St. Augustine, now Pacelli, to 3 championships of greater Minnesota Catholics in the 1930s.)

69. Kris Humphries, Hopkins boys, F-C, 2002-03. Humphries helped the Royals to the 2002 Class AAAA title and to 3rd place in 2003. He led all Class AAAA scorers both years with 67 and 72 points.

70. Andy Berkvam, Lakeville/Lakeville North girls, coach, 1999-2010 and Brian Cosgriff, Hopkins girls, coach, 2002-11 and Willie Taylor, Mounds View and St. Paul Central girls, coach, 1994-2008. Berkvam led the Panthers to 7 tournaments and 3 titles in 12 years while Cosgriff led Hopkins to 6 tournaments and 3 titles in 10 years. Taylor led Central to 5 tournaments and 2 titles in 8 years (and Mounds View to 1 tournament previously). St. Paul Central’s 2007 champions and Lakeville North’s 2010 champions were acclaimed as the greatest girls team ever.

71. Rick Rickert, Duluth East boys, C, 2001. Rickert led East to the Class AAAA runner-up slot in 2001, scoring 90 points in 3 games, the most since Mark Olberding in 1973.

72. Ed Nylund, Buhl boys, C, 1941-42. Nylund led Buhl to the 2nd back-to-back titles to that time.

73. Harold Gillen, Stillwater boys, F, 1913-14. Gillen led Stillwater to the semi-finals in 1913 and to the 2nd state title in 1914.

74. Tamara Moore, F, Mpls. North 1997-98. Moore led North to the runner-up slot in 1997 and then to its 1st girls state title in 1998. She led Class AAA in scoring both years (and all scorers in 1998) with 56 and 67 points, including 26 in the 1998 final.

75. Bennie Lichtenegger, Gaylord boys, F, 1926. Lichtenegger led Gaylord to the 1926 tournament title and they were christened as the 1st Cinderella. He led all scorers for the tournament with 34 points in 3 games.

No comments:

Post a Comment