Friday, March 27, 2009

Hopkins: Best Ever? Part II

Some have said that the 2009 Hopkins Royals are the best Minnesota boys high school team ever. Such judgments are in the eye of the beholder, of course. But there is one objective measure, at least, on which the Royals hnow share a place at the top of the list.

Prior to the 2009 state tournament, Mpls. Patrick Henry had more boys state championships than any Minnesota high school, with titles in the single class tournament in 1944 and 1945, and a four-peat in Class AAA of the four class era in 2000-2001-2002 and 2003 for a total of six.

Hopkins, meanwhile, also won back-to-back titles in the single class era in 1952 and 1953. (See below for a post about that team.) More recently the Royals won Class AAAA championships in 2002, 2005 and 2006. And, now, the 2009 title makes for a total of six.

The DeLaSalle Islanders and Mpls. North are next with five MSHSL titles each. DeLaSalle's came in 1985, 1988, 1998-1999 and 2006. DeLaSalle also won ten Catholic state championships between 1927 and 1962, plus a national Catholic championship in 1931. North won their titles in 1980, 1995-1996-1997 and 2003.

Several schools are next with four boys titles each:

Bloomington Jefferson--1976, 1982, 1986 and 1987
Chisholm--1934, 1973, 1975 and 1991
Duluth Central--1950, 1961, 1971 and 1979
Red Wing--1915, 1920, 1922 and 1933
Southwest MN Christian--1999-2000-2001-2002

With its Class AAA title, Mpls. Washburn joins a group of schools with three titles each. Washburn won its three titles in 1955, 1994 and 2009. 

1 comment:

  1. Regretably - New Prague has never one a title. Second in '97 and third in '56 are their best finishes.