Monday, April 2, 2012

Minnesota Hoops Player of the Year Poll 2012

Vote for the Minnesota Hoops Player of the Year to the right. Following is some info on the 10 finalists.

Seimone Augustus, Lynx. Helped the Lynx to the WNBA title. She was their leading scorer and most often defended the opponent's top perimeter threat. Not noted as a great defender, perhaps coach Reeve's greatest achievement aside from the title itself was getting Seimone to play as hard on the defensive end as she does on offense.

Rachel Banham, Gophers. Gophers leading scorer, Big 10 freshman of the year, 1st team freshman all-America.

Siyani Chambers, Hopkins. Took his team within a heartbeat of a four-peat and/or a three-peat with him at the controls. Mr. Basketball.

Nia Coffey, Hopkins. Led her team to a repeat as Class AAAA champion. World class defender and improving rapidly on offense. Will be back next year to go for #3.

James Ellisor, Bemidji State. Led the Beavs to the #1 seed in the NSIC, though in part that's due to Winona's use of an ineligible player and subsequent penalties. Still Bemidji was one of the big surprises in small college ball and Ellisor seems clearly to have been the top small college player (D2 or D3, men or women) in the state.

Tyus Jones, Apple Valley. Won a couple of the more prestigious PoY awards, and he's just a sophomore.

Kevin Love, Timberwolves. 27 points and 13 rebounds per game, NBA 3 point shooting champ, should be (but won't) an MVP candidate.

Ricky Rubio, Timberwolves. Lent a dash of, well, dash to the Wolves before his knee injury. Among the league leaders in assists and steals.

Lindsay Whalen, Lynx. The leader on the court, she scores, she orchestrates, she makes her teammates better.

Taylor Young, St. Thomas. Led the Tommies to their 1st Final Four since 2003.

No comments:

Post a Comment