Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Joe Coleman is Mr. Basketball

EDIT: Joe Coleman was announced today as Mr. Basketball 2011. The Hopkins star had been regarded as a shoo-in for the award, and was.

ORIGINAL POST: 2 nominees out of 20 from Greater Minnesota--Seth Hinrichs of MCCRAY and Cole Olstad of Plainview-EM. Here's the complete list.

Marcus Alipate, Bloomington Jefferson
Lucas Brown, Roseville
Joe Coleman, Hopkins
Marquel Curtis, Robbinsdale Armstrong
Ben Figini, Chisago Lakes
Seth Hinrichs, MCCRAY
Raijon Kelly, Cretin
Zach Lofton, Columbia Heights
Shelby Moats, Waconia
Kyle Noreen, MN Transitions
Cole Olstad, Plainview-Elgin-Millville
Alex Richter, Lakeville South
Eric Robertson, Wayzata
Thomas Schalk, Apple Valley
Roosevelt Scott, St. Paul Johnson
Marvin Singleton, Hopkins
Jonah Travis, DeLaSalle
Ross Travis, Chaska
Estan Tyler, St. Paul Johnson
Jake White, Chaska

Would John Clark of Sebeka have been such a bad choice? Jayme Moten? Mark Blacklock of Winona?

And Jordan Smith of Orono, he's not from Greater Minnesota, but he seems like an oversight.

But mostly I just want to suggest that the bias against non-metro players seems to be pretty extreme.

But among these 20, here are the 5 should-be finalists.

Estan Tyler
Joe Coleman
Cole Olstad
Alex Richter
Jonah Travis

No comments:

Post a Comment