Tuesday, May 22, 2012

North Tartan Takes 4 of 7 State AAU Titles

North Tartan took 4 of 7 state girls AAU titles, including the featured 2013 title for seniors-to-be, Sunday at Bloomington Kennedy High School.


Among the 2013s #1 seed North Tartan Nike Elite (Coury) defeated #3 MN Stars (Borowicz) 60-56. Tartan had defeated MN Fury 2013 Blue (Cerisier) 60-51 in one semi, while the Stars knocked off Tartan's second 2013 squad NT 16U (Olsen). Olsen had upset #2 seed Metro Stars Black (Amos) 34-33 in a quarter-final game. This was the only bracket in which a top 4 seed did NOT advance to the semis.

In the final, Tyseanna Johnson led with 17 points while Tesha Buck added 14 for Tartan. Phyllis Webb scored 16 and Allina Starr 12 for MN Stars.


It was a tough weekend for the #2 seeds. Only 1 of them, MN Stars (Martin) (2016), made it to the finals. But once there, Martin defeated #1 MN Fury 2016 Blue (Sinn) easily at 40-19. Fury had defeated Crossfire, and Stars Martin had knocked off North Tartan 13U in the semi, as all 4 of the seeds had advanced that far.

Jasmyn Martin was the only MN Star in double figures in the final with 10, while Taylor Koenen did the same for Fury.


All of the other #2s lost in the semi-finals to the #3 seeds in the various classes. One of the #3s was also successful in winning a state title. That was MN Stars (Taylor), who upset #1 North Tartan Alexander 57-53. Taylor upset #2 Metro Stars 15U, while Tartan beat MN Fury 2014 Blue in the semis featuring all 4 of the seeds.

Sydney Lamberty and Carlie Wagner led the Stars in the final with 16 points. Tonoia Wade and Cayla McMorris scored 11 and Micaela Noga 10 for Tartan.


The other 3 classes, 2015, 2017 and 2018, were won by Tartan squads. At 2015 it was #1 North Tartan (Herbrechtsmayer) over #3 Metro Stars 14U Black (Weise) 36-35 in OT. Tartan defeated MN Fury 2015 Blue while Metro Stars upset #2 MN Stars (Antl) in the semis.

In the final, Maddie Guebert (Eastview) led all scorers with 16, while Olivia Hass had 12 for Tartan.


Among the 2017s, North Tartan (Kuppe) defeated #3 MN Stars (Johnson) 34-32. Tartan head defeated #4 Fury 2017 Gold in 1 semi, and Stars Johnson beat MN Fury 20178 Blue in the other. Alison Gerald led Kuppe with 9 points, while Raennah Johnson scored 12 for the Stars.

And at 2018, it was #1 North Tartan West Theisen 46 #3 FM Fusion 30. Tartan beat MN Suns (Long) while Fusion beat #2 seeded NC Heat in the semis. Marie Olson led Tartan with 14 points.

MN Thunder (Bueckers) (2019) defeated MN Stars (Nelson) 42029 in the final. McKenna Hofschild scored 16 points and Paige Bueckers 13 for the winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment