Tuesday, March 13, 2012

MS Basketball Finalists, Coaches' All-State and All-Metro Announced

Finally, Ms. Basketball finalists. And the coaches' all-state teams and StarTribune all-metro were named yesterday as well.

Tessa Cichy   Hill Murray
Sydney Coffey   Hopkins
Alexis Foley   White Bear lake
Marissa Janning   Watertown Mayer
Jackie Johnson   Eden Prairie
Kali Peschel Sauk Centre

I suppose you could say that the big surprise is no Shayne Mullaney. Second big surprise, no Katybeth Biewen. Kali Peschel's inclusion says this is a career award, not an award for the senior year. So it must be relevant that Marissa Janning was rated #1 in her class early on, only to be replaced by Tessa Cichy and later by Jackie Johnson. I think I would go with Janning or Johnson. If Mullaney were still eligible I like her but she's not.

Coaches' All-State
All are seniors unless otherwise indicated

Class AAAA

Brittney Scherber, Bloomington Jefferson
Jackie Johnson, Eden Prairie
Shayne Mullaney, Eden Prairie
Katybeth Biewen, Edina
Nia Coffey, Hopkins
Sydney Coffey, Hopkins
Jacqlyn Poss, Roseville, Jr.
Maria Grossfeld, Wayzata
Kayla Timmerman, Wayzata
Alexis Foley, White Bear Lake

Class AAA

Lauren Trumm, Alexandria
Kadidjah Shumpert, Benilde-St. Margaret's
Whitney Tinjum, Chisago Lakes
Tyseanna Johnson, DeLaSalle, Jr.
Allina Starr, DeLaSalle, Jr.
Mariah Monke, Fergus Falls
Tessa Cichy, Hill-Murray
Whitney Weisz, Little Falls
Tesha Buck, Red Wing, Jr.
Jessica January, Richfield, Jr.

Class AA

Rebecca Dahlman, Braham, Jr.
Savanna Trapp, Esko, Jr.
Jessy Noreen, Hawley
Taylor Thunstedt, New London-Spicer, Jr.
Madison Dean, Jordan, Jr.
Carlie Wagner, NRHEG, Soph.
Mattie Lueck, Pequot Lakes
AnneMarie Healy, Providence
Katy Kuiper, St. Peter
Kali Peschel, Sauk Centre
Marissa Janning, Watertown-Mayer

Katie Myhre--Barnum
Heather Strese--Brandon-Evansville
Riley Nordgaard--Canby

Courtney Hulstein--Fulda
Erica Tipcke--Goodhue
Kendra Schmidgall--Hancock
Alexis Long--Maranatha Christian Academy
Micaela Noga--Parkers Prairie
Alicia Boe--Sebeka
Jessica Lillquist--Sebeka
Aimee Pelzer--Upsala

Mpls. Star Tribune All-Metro Teams

Tessa Cichy, Hill-Murray, 5-10, Sr. G
Nia Coffey, Hopkins, 6-0, Jr. G
Marissa Janning, Watertown-Mayer, 5-8, Sr. G
Jackie Johnson, Eden Prairie, 6-1, Sr. C
Shayne Mullaney, Eden Prairie, 5-8, Sr. G
• Whitney Tinjum, Chisago Lakes, 5-11, sr., G
• Alexis Foley, White Bear Lake, 5-10, sr., G
• KatyBeth Biewen, Edina, 5-9, sr., G
• Jessica January, Richfield, 5-8, jr., G
• Tyeseanna Johnson, DeLaSalle, jr., F
• Marissa Grossfeld, Wayzata, sr., F
• Anna Rynda, New Prague, sr., F
• Phyllis Webb, Osseo, jr., F
• Sydney Coffey, Hopkins, sr., G
• Whitney Olson, Cambridge-Isanti, sr., G
• Jacqlyn Poss, Roseville, jr., G
• Britney Scherber, Jefferson, sr., G
First, I'm used to everybody underestimating Tyseanna Johnson, it is not news  any more. Two, Cichy (1st team) and Tinjum, Foley and Biewen are pretty much dead even, and this doesn't changes that. Third, it's gutsy of them but probably correct that Sydney Coffey in on the 3rd team and gutsy to leave Timmerman out atrogethr. I also like Anna Rynda, the one choice here who is not at least HM All-State somewhere else.

No comments:

Post a Comment