Sunday, March 25, 2012

Boys State Tournament Recap

Final Results

Osseo 49 Lakeville North 47 High Scorer: DJ Hebert, Osseo 13
DeLaSalle 57 Minneapolis Washburn 56 (OT) Joseph Doby, Washburn 21
Plainview-Elgin-Millville 55 Litchfield 39 Beau Nelson, PEM 21
Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 54 Southwest Minnesota Christian 45 Brian Goodwin, BBE 29


First Team

Siyani Chambers, Hopkins, G 90 points, 7 steals Tournament MVP
Reid Travis, DeLaSalle, F 57 points, 36 rebounds Class AAA MVP
Tyler Vaughan, Braham, G 85 points, 30 rebounds, 10 steals Class AA MVP
Zach Huisken, Southwest Christian, C 39 points, 43 rebounds, 13 blocks Class A MVP
Marcus Marshall, St. Paul Johnson, G 84 points

6th man--Brian Goodwin, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa, G 69 points, 11 assists, 10 steals

Second Team

Ian Theissen, Osseo, C 40 points, 26 rebounds
Alex Illikainen, Grand Rapids, C 56 points, 37 rebounds, 6 blocks
Austin Pohlen, Grand Rapids, G 71 points, 16 assists, 9 steals
Sander Mohn, Eden Prairie, G 58 points
Bridge Tusler, Osseo, G 32 points, 26 rebounds

6th--Joseph Doby, Minneapolis Washburn, F 53 points, 20 rebounds

Third Team

Grant Shaeffer, Eden Prairie, G 50 points (41 in 1 game!), 12 assists
Joey Bartlett, St. Peter, F 23 points, 8 blocks (1 game)
Nick Thompson, Rushford-Peterson, F 78 points
Demetrius Martin, Hopkins, F-G 52 points
Connor Goodwin, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrose, G 50 points, 33 rebounds

6th--Tyler Flack, Lakeville North 34 points, 24 rebounds, 6 blocks

Fourth Team

Jordan Bruhn, Perham, G 37 points, 20 rebounds, 16 assists
Beau Herrig, Mountain Lake-Butterfield-Odin, F 56 points, 30 rebounds
Trent Vix, Rushford-Peterson, G 54 points, 10 steals, 9 assists
Joey King, Eastview, F 27 points (1 game)
Cory Speer, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, G 54 points

6th--Renard Suggs, Woodbury, G 21 points, 5 assists (1 game)

This is obviously MY all-tournament team. The MSHSL does not pick an all-tournament team. Well, yes, they call it an all-tournament team but it is either NOT an ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAM, really, or last Wednesday and Thursday's quarter-finals are NOT part of the tournament. My point is--if you do not play in a semi-final game, you are ineligible for the, er, ah, ALL-SEMI-FINAL team. But wait, Rebekah Dahlman made the all-tournament team!? OK, it is the all-semi-final + big shot team. If you are a big enough star you can do it. But if you are, say, Mr. Basketball finalist Joey King, you are not a big enough name. If you are just Joey Bartlett of St. Peter, of whom no one has heard, then 23 points, 6 rebounds, 2 assists and 8 block are certainly not good enough.

So as things sit, the all-tournament committee thought that Mitch Wollin of Litchfield (22 points in 3 games) was a better ballplayer than Joey Bartlett of St. Peter (23 points in 1 game). But since it is impossible to have seen them play and to think that, like I say, the only conclusion on can possibly draw is that Bartlett was ineligible. At least, that is what I prefer to believe. I do not want to even contemplate the idea that the all-tournament committee really thought Wollin was better.


Class AAAA

Scoring--Siyani Chambers, Hopkins 90 points
Rebounding--Nick Jorgenson, Hopkins and Ryan Saarela, Lakeville North 28 rebounds
Assists--Grant Shaeffer, Eden Prairie 18 assists
Blocks--Tyler Flack, Lakeville North 6 blocks
Steals--S. Chambers 7 steals

Class AAA

Scoring--Marcus Marshall, St. Paul Johnson 84 points
Rebounding--Alex Illikainen, Grand Rapids 37 rebounds
Assists--Austin Pohlen, Grand Rapids 16 assists
Blocks--Illikainen 6 blocks
Steals--Pohlen 9 steals

Class AA

Scoring--Tyler Vaughan, Braham 85 points
Rebounding--Vaughan 30 rebounds
Assists--Jordan Bruhn, Perham 16 assists
Blocks--Joey Bartlett, St. Peter 8 blocks (1 game!)
Steals--Pohlen 9 steals

Class A

Scoring--Nick Thompson, Rushford-Peterson 73 points
Rebounding--Zach Hupsken, Southwest Christian 43 rebounds
Assists--Brian Goodwin, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 16 assists
Blocks--Huisken 13 blocks
Steals--B. Goodwin; Matt Olson, St. Croix Lutheran;Trent Vix, Rushford-Peterson 10 steals

Final Rankings (Top 10)

1. Osseo 30-2
2. Hopkins 30-2
3. Lakeville North 30-2
4. DeLaSalle 26-6
5. Eastview 28-2
6. Minneapolis Washburn 29-3
7. Benilde-St. Margaret's 27-2
8. Eden Prairie 23-9
9. Woodbury 24-6
10. Apple Valley 23-6

Top 50 will be posted this week.

No comments:

Post a Comment